Burn Depth Classification: Identifying a Deep Partial-Thickness Burn


Burn depth classification is the process of determining the severity of a burn. Burns are classified into three depths: superficial, partial-thickness, and full-thickness.

Deep Partial-Thickness Burn

A deep partial-thickness burn is a type of burn that damages the dermis, the second layer of skin. Deep partial-thickness burns are typically dry, blotchy cherry red, blistering, and have no capillary refill. Sensation may be reduced or absent.

Classification of Burn Depth

Burn depth can be classified using the following criteria:

  • Appearance: Superficial burns are typically red and dry. Partial-thickness burns are typically red, blistering, and have a decreased capillary refill time. Full-thickness burns are typically brown, black, or white, and have no capillary refill.
  • Sensation: Superficial burns are typically painful. Partial-thickness burns may have reduced or absent sensation. Full-thickness burns have no sensation.
  • Blanching: Superficial burns blanch (turn white) when pressure is applied. Partial-thickness burns may or may not blanch. Full-thickness burns do not blanch.


The type of burn depth described in the question is a deep partial-thickness burn. This is because the burn is dry, blotchy cherry red, blistering, has no capillary refill, and has reduced or absent sensation.

Additional Information

Deep partial-thickness burns require medical attention. The treatment for deep partial-thickness burns typically involves wound care, pain management, and fluid resuscitation. In some cases, surgery may be necessary to remove the dead tissue and promote healing.


Approximately 250 words

Brand new look, elegent and cool! Same site, same account